Find a Way To Follow Me

Sunday, September 30, 2012

It's Sunday & I'm Getting Ready For....

Hey ya'll! It's Sunday and here is what I'm getting ready for:



  • Work tomorrow, obviously. Tomorrow is the 1st of the month, so I'm sure it'll be a bit busy.
  • Getting these flyers out to my mommy friends that have been working on the fundraiser. Btw, if you want more info on the fundraiser or want to help out in some way or another feel free to email me at lincolnzoom@yahoo.com or leave a comment here on my blog.
  • Our weekly trip to the library. Although lately it's been turning into a biweekly trip. We just went yesterday, but we have movies to return on Tuesday and I'm sure some books that I requested will be on hold there this week.
  • Dying my hair. I just got it trimmed and layered this evening (finally!) and some time this week I will be re-doing my purple and putting some blue in it, as well. I'm looking forward to it!
  • More learning with Lincoln. This past week he chose to learn about, as he put it, big bones. It was really interesting to learn about animal bones and the anatomy of animals. This week he has picked waterfalls for his learning topic. So, I will be going on the library website shortly and looking for books on waterfalls & probably other bodies of water.
  • And of course, more blog posts. After my little break this past week I am feeling much better and have thought of a few topics to write about. 
And that's what I'm getting ready for this week. I'm sure more stuff will come up that I can't think of right now or that will just happen without much planning. Hope you all had a great weekend!

Friday, September 28, 2012

Busy & Stressed

Lincoln wearing his Caemon shirt. Showing support for his friend.
I know, I know. I haven't blogged all week. I have been so busy with the fundraiser and stressed about some of it. I'm excited we're doing it and it's for a good cause, but it can get so frustrating some times. I feel like I'm not always getting clear, straight-forward answers about things. I was almost in tears earlier this week because I was frustrated about my task of getting a flyer put together. But everything is good now. I'm feeling really excited and happy and optimistic about it all. I feel like we are really moving forward and getting things more organized. I'm beyond thrilled that we are helping out friends and their son.

Plus, after my post last Friday I just didn't feel like I had a really good follow up post. I mean I did my Sunday post, obviously. But, I just didn't know what to write about after writing on something so important to me. My mommy friends are very important to me. Even though I live about 25-30 minutes away from the majority of them I still do my best to make it to all the activities we do with the kids. At least once a week I make the drive out to either Story Time or a meeting for this fundraiser and I used to make the drive twice every other week when I was still going to Mommy Group. I just don't want Lincoln & I to miss out on an opportunity to socialize with our friends. I feel better when I get some time to talk to my mommy friends and Lincoln gets to play with his friends.

Like I said in last Friday's post, I really don't know what I would do with out all of these amazing women. They are wonderful mothers and friends. I'm glad that I have met them and that we have such a close knit group. I'm glad that we have one another to lean on in good times and in bad. We are there for one another pretty much all the time. They are pretty great friends and I couldn't ask for better people to be friends with.

Blogly Question(s):

Do you have Mommy Friends like this? or just friends like this?

Sunday, September 23, 2012

It's Sunday & I'm Getting Ready For...

It's Sunday & I'm Getting Ready For:

  • Work tomorrow, as usual. As always I am loving my job.
  • More fundraiser stuff I'm sure. Been a bit stressed out with getting my task done, especially since I haven't been receiving clear, straight-forward information on what people want and don't want. But looks like it's coming together pretty good.
  • Our weekly trip to the library. Don't know what we will be learning about this week yet. But whatever Lincoln picks, I'm excited.
  • Two dinner guests this week. Some night this week our friend, Chris, will be coming over for dinner. I haven't seen Chris in forever, so I can't wait to spend some time with him. Friday night my dad is coming over for dinner, so that will be really nice. I saw my dad like a month ago, so can't wait for both of these dinners.
  • My stomach stuff to clear up. It has been all out of whack lately. Looks like I have to really watch what I eat. Since I changed my diet so drastically my body really can't handle all the crap I used to eat. No more sweets and no more processed foods. Lots of label reading to be happening.
  • My new beauty regiment. The past few days I've really been working on taking care of my skin better and I've been putting on make-up. All of my friends know that I'm not really that much of a girly-girl and I've basically never really worn make-up my entire life. So, for me to be getting into getting girlier is a pretty big thing. Gabe enjoys when I make myself up, I don't have to do it for him, but he also doesn't mind when I do it.
  • Getting back into the groove of working out. Really going to work hard at getting back into doing more cardio. I've been pretty good about doing weights, but I've been lacking on cardio. 
  • Dinners for the week. We used to plan out our dinners for the week on Sunday nights, but we've really gotten out of the habit of doing that. Going to be getting back into the habit, especially since I have to be so much more aware of what I'm eating and what I'm putting into my body.
And that is what I'm getting ready for this week.
What are you all getting ready for this week?

 

Friday, September 21, 2012

My Problems are Trivial

Lincoln has had a cold since Tuesday. He is congested and has a wet cough. He's been cranky and demanding. Both Gabe & I are very tired and I have a headache right now. But you know what, it doesn't matter. It's nothing compared to what two of my friends are going through with their son. A month ago their son, who turned 3-years-old earlier this month, was diagnosed with leukemia. He has JMML (Juvenile myelomonocytic leukemia). It's extremely rare. When I found out last month my heart just broke for all of them. I couldn't imagine going through what they are going through. But, I am remaining optimistic for them. I am also so happy that they have the Mommy Group. I am happy to have met all these wonderful mothers and families. It is the greatest group.

When I told Gabe about my friends and their son he was sad about their situation. I then told him that the Mommy Group was planning a fundraiser to help them and he scoffed a bit at this idea. I then said to him "if we were in this situation wouldn't you be happy that we had friends to help out like this" and he said "I wouldn't expect their help". I then explained to him that this wonderful family isn't expecting our help. We're helping because they are our friends and they need our help. This group is about being a supportive community of moms and children and families. None of us in the group expect help, but we all know that if we need help there are people we can ask for it. 

It seems that whenever a mommy is in need we all band together and figure out how we can help. If a mother in the group has a baby then we put together a meal train in which we each take turns taking over a dinner for the first few weeks. If a mommy needs advice on something she knows she can ask on our Facebook group and we do our best to answer her question or give her advice. If someone needs babysitting they can ask for it and if another mom is available then they will help out with it. I am glad I found this group of women and I really don't know what I would do without them.

I pray all the time for my friends and their son. I do my best not to complain about things going on in my life right now. Because I know that compared to what they're going through, my problems are trivial. I am constantly sending them good, loving, healing thoughts. As much as my heart breaks for them, I am optimistic that they will all get through this and they will find a bone marrow match for their son. If you would like to know all about their story and find out how you can help you can check out their Caring Bridge website or you can check out their Facebook page.


Wednesday, September 19, 2012

So What Wednesday!

So What Wednesday


This week I'm saying So What if...

  • I started watching Jersey Shore & am enjoying it. I'm not ashamed. My husband on the other hand is.
  • I still haven't scheduled a haircut for myself. I keep debating if I really want one or if I should just wait a bit longer.
  • We let Lincoln stay up until 11:30pm last night watching movies. He has a cold and he took a really late nap. Plus he only slept until 8:30am this morning.
  • I'm having doubts about an upcoming fundraiser. I will voice my concerns on Friday at the next meeting.
  • I'm excited for Fall TV shows starting up. Looking forward to new season of my favorite shows.
  • I feel like I did some slight husband bashing in my last post. In looking back on it, I more so made fun than bashed.
  • I've gotten out of the habit of exercising. I'm aware of it and plan to get back in the habit ASAP.
  • I'm still figuring out things about blogging and the layout of my blog. I will get it all the way I want it eventually.
  • I'm thinking of getting a smartphone, just so I can twitter more easily and blog on the go.
  • I've been tweeting like crazy.
  • I'm in desperate need of a girls night out. I will plan one as soon as one of my besties gets back from SoCal.
  • I can't make a decision about if we should have more children or not. We got back and forth constantly.
  • We've been having a lazy week. It's nice to have a week where we don't have any plans. Plus, I've got a little boy with another head cold. 
And that's what I'm saying So What to this week.
What are you saying So What to this week?

Strangers are Bad, Except for That One Day of the Year

Lincoln's 1st Halloween
The holiday season is just around the corner. It's my favorite time of the year. Since I was very young I have loved Halloween. I know it's not really considered a holiday since no one gets the day off. But I think kids still consider it a holiday. I've always enjoyed getting to dress up and be someone or something different for one night. Plus, as a kid it's fun because you get free candy...from strangers...

As a kid I never thought this part of Halloween was strange. Now that I'm an adult and a parent it does seem strange. We were told as children never to speak to strangers or take anything they offered you, especially candy. However, on Halloween please forget all of this and go right up to a strangers door and say a silly phrase so that they will give you candy. What kind of nonsense is that? It really doesn't make any sense to me. Plus, you have to be very aware of the kind of candy your children are getting. Is it packaged from the store or is it a homemade goody bag that could have potentially been poisoned? Could there be razorblades in it? These were things my parents were concerned about when I went trick-or-treating as a kid. I can't even imagine the kinds of things parents have to worry about these days when it comes to trick-or-treating.

Lincoln & Gabe Halloween 2010
Lincoln has never really been trick-or-treating. On his 1st Halloween his grandparents watched him for a couple of hours while Gabe & I went over to our friends' house in town and watched a movie and passed out some candy. On his 2nd Halloween we went over to the same friends' house. Their son was 10-months-old at the time and we took the boys across the street to their son's aunt's house and then up the street to his great grandmother's house for trick-or-treating. Last year we went over to another friends' house and helped them pass out candy. We are still discussing what to do this year. We would like to dress up and maybe go trick-or-treating with friends in their neighborhood. But then I wonder if we really want to get all that candy and then end up throwing most of it away. On Lincoln's 2nd Halloween we came home early enough that we could hand out candy and we got quite a few trick-or-treaters. It's over a month away so we still have some time to figure it out.

at the pumpkin farm. October 2011
Whatever we decide I'm sure we will have lots of fun. I'm hoping this year I can get Gabe to dress up. He's not a fan of it, but I told him it would be fun for us all to dress up together for just one year. So, he seems like he'll go along with it this year. I also realize that as Lincoln gets older he will be able to tell us what he wants to do. Since he's still young it's still our decision on what we do. I'm looking forward to Halloween and I'm sure it'll be lots of fun.

Blogly Question(s):

What do you like most or least about Halloween? What do you think of children taking candy from strangers once a year?

Tuesday, September 18, 2012

The Creeper Peeking Over My Shoulder

Gabe & I each have our own laptops. He usually sits in the recliner when he uses his and I am usually sitting at the desk next to him on mine. If I sit at the desk my back is to the rest of our media room. The past two nights I have sat down in our other chair with my laptop. But it really doesn't matter where I sit it always seems that whatever I'm watching, reading or writing Gabe is looking over my shoulder to get a peek.

I usually watch one of the shows I enjoy in the morning while I eat breakfast. I then wait until the evening or after Lincoln has gone to bed to watch other shows that I like. Gabe doesn't care for the majority of the shows I watch, yet he still peeks over my shoulder and will start watching. Recently I started watching one of the worst things I could watch. Jersey Shore. Gabe is embarrassed that I watch it and gives me a hard time about watching it. I watch it because I like how ridiculous it is and it is funny at times. At first Gabe was upset that I was watching it. But last night he couldn't stop making fun of Pauly D's hair and he keeps asking questions about things that are going on.

A few months ago I deactivated my Facebook page. I decided that I needed a break and I wanted to get back to communicating with people over the phone and face to face. At the same time Gabe decided to delete his account. But now that my account is reactivated he reads memes over my shoulder. Yet he's always talking about how he doesn't get the point of Facebook and that it's stupid.

Gabe doesn't read my blog. But, he does like to look over my shoulder when I start writing a post. He likes to see what the title is and he's always asking how my blog is going and if I'm keeping up with posting. Sometimes he'll ask about something and I'll reply and then say "you would know this if you read my blog". If he doesn't want to read it, he doesn't have to. But if you want to know how it's going, then maybe you should check it out.

I love my husband. He's a wonderful man and father. I occasionally check out what he's doing on his computer. But not often, because he's usually doing the same thing. Playing an online video game. We both used to play WoW (World of Warcraft), but I stopped playing and deactivated my account. He did the same, but recently reactivated his account. The reason I haven't reactivated my account is because I've been blogging and I usually like to relax and watch something on my computer or on the TV at night. I have thought about getting back into playing, but I wonder how often I will play. Plus we used to have a group of friends we played with about a year ago and then they all disbanded and it's just not as much fun.

So for now I will stick to blogging and watching bad television shows and deal with Gabe peeking over my shoulder and asking me questions about things he says he doesn't care about.

Blogly Question(s):

Do you watch any bad television shows that your spouse doesn't care for? Does your spouse come look over your shoulder to see what you're doing on the computer?

Monday, September 17, 2012

My Opinion is the Only Right One

I'm sure many people would not agree with this.
I'm overly opinionated, hence the name of this blog. I know I'm overly opinionated, but I do my best not to force my beliefs on others. I understand that everyone is entitled to their own opinion and is free to make their own choices. I don't agree with all of those opinions and choices, just as others do not agree with all of my opinions and choices. However, I do wish that others would understand that they can't force their beliefs and opinions on others and can't force them to do what they think is right. Everyone has their own opinion of what is right for them and their family.

Circumcision is a controversial topic right now. Especially since the AAP recently came out and said that they believe that the health benefits of circumcision outweigh the risks. However, the still believe that it is up to the parents to make the choice of if they want to circumcise their baby boy or not. Many people are outraged that after 13 years of staying neutral on the matter they have moved to being for it. We did not circumcise Lincoln and none of our friends circumcised their sons. We all have the belief that it's his body, his choice. The same thing applies to a pregnant woman and if she wants to get an abortion or not. It's her body, her choice. This also applies to those wishing to get piercings and tattoos. These are our bodies, we get to make the choice of what is done to them. However, if a parent is choosing to circumcise their son then that is their choice. I don't think it's necessarily right, but that is what they're choosing to do. If they were friends of mine I would talk to them and ask why they were choosing circumcision. I would inform them of what I knew about circumcision and that it is not necessary. If they still chose to go ahead with it, then I would say that is your choice. I wouldn't be upset about it, I wouldn't flip out about it. I would understand that they feel this is what is right for them and their child.

some people probably wouldn't agree with us allowing Lincoln to play in the dryer.
Almost 3 years ago friends of ours gave birth to their son. I was upset about how she chose to bring her child into the world. I felt that they had forced the child into the world because they wanted him born before the end of the year. He was born late at night on the 31st of December. I got so upset about it that I started having a panic attack. I didn't think it was right that they induced labor when she was only 3 days late and that they ended up getting a c-section. I behaved in a manner of which I am not proud. I never said anything to their faces, but I spoke about it disgust to others. That experience helped me understand and see that everyone makes different choices when it comes to their lives and their bodies and their children. Everyone makes the choice that they feel is right for them.

I no longer think that it is right to force your opinions and beliefs on others. I share mine here, but you are all free to read it or not. I am not saying that my way is right or wrong. My opinion is simply that, my opinion. Although, as I am writing this I am thinking it's a bit hypocritical of me to be saying it's not right for others to be so opinionated. What I am saying is that I have experienced overreacting about someone's choice and it helped me learn that that's not right. You have to let people make their own choices. You can let them know how you feel and that you do or don't agree with them. But is it really right to get so worked up over another person's choice? If it's not hurting you or ruining your life, then what's the point of getting so upset about it? It's not going to change anything and it's not going to make the other person change their mind. If anything it will only make them go with the choice they were going to make in the first place.

We all see the benefits in the choices we make and the faults in the ones we don't agree with. But do we ever stand back and see the faults in our choice and the benefits in a choice we don't agree with? Does anyone ever think about that? We are all entitled to our own opinions and free to make our own choices. We are free to share these opinions with others, but I think we should do it in a way in which someone else is willing to listen. We shouldn't berate someone with our opinions, then we just end up as coming off as bitchy.

Blogly Question(s):

Has anyone ever forced their beliefs or opinions on you? Have you ever gotten upset over another person's choice that you didn't agree with?




Sunday, September 16, 2012

Not The Usual Sunday Post...

Usually on Sundays I give you all a list of what I'm getting ready for this week. However, I sat down to write that list and realized that I'm really only getting ready for one thing this week. Work. So I figured I'd write a different post this evening.

A post about posts.

I know really original, right?

I went and looked at the list of my recent posts I've made on here. I realized that I haven't been posting as much as I could be. Since last Sunday I've only written 3 posts. I realized that I don't usually post on Mondays, Fridays, or Saturdays. Mondays I work, so in the evening I'm usually relaxing in the evening with my boys. I work in the morning for about 3 hours and then Gabe works in the afternoon for 3 hours. So, we enjoy spending some time together in the evening. On Fridays and Saturdays we are usually doing family stuff. And so I am left with 4 days that I end up posting. I am also having a tough time thinking up topics to post about. I feel like lately this blog has become me posting about things in mine and my family's lives. I originally started this blog to voice my opinions on all sorts of topics, but I feel like I've run out. I'm also worried about possibly offending people. But I really need to get over that and just write what I feel. I'm thinking maybe this week I will write a post about all the horrible shows I watch and how I know they're horrible, yet I still watch them. Especially since all the fall premieres are starting up. I've also thought about writing a post about the AAP and their whole being okay with circumcision now thing. I'm thinking that maybe tomorrow I will work on my list of things to write posts about. I love blogging and I'm glad that I started, but I tell you what, it's hard sometimes. It's hard to sit down and think of a topic and write about it and then find pictures to go with the post. But I enjoy it, even when it is hard to figure out what to write about. I love to write and I love sharing my opinions and that is why I started this blog. I hope you all are enjoying reading it. If there is ever a topic you would like me to write about or hear my opinion on feel free to comment. If there is anything on this blog that you feel needs changing feel free to blog. I total open to constructive criticism.

I hope you all have had a wonderful weekend and please keep reading, because there is so much more to come.
Thanks!!


Thursday, September 13, 2012

You're Out of Control

drinking shots!
Most of the time I post about my opinion on parenting topics or general life topics. There are a few times when I let you into my life and my family's life. In this post I will really be opening up to you all. A few posts ago I briefly mentioned that I have control issues and that I would tell you about them at some point. That's what I'm doing tonight.

When I was a teenager I was a pretty average teenager. I was a handful, I did crazy stuff, I went out with my friends way more than my parents wanted me to, and I was in general your typical run of the mill slightly out of control teenager. I wasn't crazy out of control like the teenagers the show on tv these days. I did some stupid things that I'm not proud of and will not tell Lincoln about until he's at least 18. But I never got pregnant and I never got arrested, so there's a plus side. I never got in a car with a drunk driver nor did I ever drive drunk. I didn't really worry about anything, I just had fun. I am not that way anymore.

I don't when I changed or what changed. But I have a serious control issue. I have to be in control, if I'm not I get anxious. I usually have to be the one that drives wherever we go and I like to choose where we go and when we go. Gabe and I have had many conversations about my control issues. He doesn't mind that I do most of the driving. He does mind that I always have to pick where we go and when we go. Like when we go out to eat (which is very very rarely these days) I usually like to pick where we go to eat. Gabe's not a picky eater, so he doesn't mind this too much. But he says he'd like to pick where we go to eat every once in awhile and not have me complain about it.

I've been doing a little better over the past year or so. Since I've become aware of the fact that I always have to be in control, I've gotten a little better at letting go of somethings. There are times when I let Gabe drive and I feel fine about it. I'm still working on not always getting my way. I'm sure this comes from the fact that growing up I usually got what I wanted when I wanted it. I learned that if I complained enough then eventually my parents would give in. There were times when I had to resort to full on temper tantrums when I was a teenager in order to get what I wanted. It was not a pretty sight. I learned how to be manipulative in order to get my way. As I came into adulthood and started dating Gabe I saw that I couldn't always get what I wanted. But this is not the only thing that started my control issues and my anxiety.

I have been a very bad worrier since I was a young child. I used to be afraid that the heater in my bedroom was going to explode and the house would catch fire and we wouldn't be able to get out in time. The heater in my bedroom as a child made an awful loud clunking noise when it came on and that's why I was afraid it was going to explode or short out or something. In 2001 my mom had a cardiac arrest. She lived and has a defibrillator. After she came home from the hospital I had a hard time sleeping and I finally admitted to her one night that I was afraid to fall asleep, because I was worried she was going to die. She explained to me that she wasn't going to die and that if her heart did have anymore problems then the defibrillator would help her. These were things in my life that I couldn't control. These were things that just happened and I had to deal with them. But I don't think I dealt with them very well or was taught good coping skills.

My control issues don't always cause my anxiety to flare up. Sometimes I just have to be in control. Like when it comes to some things with Lincoln. Gabe gets tired of me telling him how to raise our child sometimes. I will admit that I do tell him how to do things a lot of the time. I don't know why I do this, I guess in a way I don't fully trust anyone else (even my own husband and the father of my child) to care for Lincoln. Or maybe I'm just not comfortable with someone taking care of something with him in a different way then I would. Again, I am getting better at loosening the reins some. I have backed off on telling Gabe how to do something with Lincoln. I'm not second guessing him as much anymore. But it's hard sometimes. I don't know why I am like this, I just feel I need to be the one to make all the decisions so that I'm sure things go my way. I guess because in a way I feel that my way is the only way when it comes to the care of my child.

Writing this out I now see that my control issue may have something to do with being overly opinionated...

There is only so much I can explain in writing when it comes to these control and anxiety issues I have. I do know that for whatever reason I have become comfortable enough to share with the world that I have these problems. Not to worry, my doctor is aware of it and I have been receiving therapy for these issues as well. I don't want to be a worry-wart forever and I don't want to be a control freak forever or have bad anxiety forever. I guess me telling all of you that read this about these problems of mine is therapeutic in a way. It helps me face the truth about these problems more. I am learning to let go in life. I think it's okay to want to be in control with certain things in your life, but I do know that I am learning that I can't control everything. I also think that perhaps letting go of control in certain aspects of my life may help me not be so anxious.

Blogly Question(s):

Do you ever feel the need to be in control? Does it ever cause any problems in your relationships?  


Wednesday, September 12, 2012

So What Wednesday...

So What Wednesday


This week I'm saying SO WHAT if...

  • I ate 3 pieces of banana bread this morning. I made a loaf last night and I'm the only one in the house that really enjoys it. 
  • I told Lincoln no more TV yesterday and let him watch a movie and a half this morning. I felt like taking an easy morning before we went out and ran errands and had a super busy afternoon.
  • We tell Lincoln there's dog pee on everything he tries to touch that he shouldn't when we're on a walk. We're most likely right and it gets him to stop before he touches something yucky.
  • I'm wearing a SpongeBob Band-aid. For whatever reason they make it so those fabric band-aids don't stick together as well as children's band-aids and I need a band-aid that stays on, not one that I have to constantly change.
  • I've let Lincoln sleep in until almost 9am the past two mornings. It was nice to get a little extra sleep this morning after staying up late last night and it was nice to have some quiet time yesterday morning.
  • It's been weeks and I still need a haircut, but I'm still too lazy to call a place in town to make an appointment.
What are you saying So What to this week? Head on over to Life After I "Dew" and link up.

Tuesday, September 11, 2012

Daydream Believer

I don't know if it's because I've been working on my book more or watching a lot of The Walking Dead. But in the past week I have had two zombie dreams. They're not really super scary zombie dreams, but there are zombies chasing me and getting close enough to bite and eat me, but then never do. When I have dreams with a recurring theme it makes me wonder. I wonder if it's some sort of sign from my subconscious or from the universe perhaps. Or if it's just the fact that I've been doing something on a regular basis that has to do with the recurring theme in my dreams.  I have always wondered if dreams mean anything or if they are simply just your imagination running freely.

When I was in middle school I bought one of those dream dictionaries. I used it maybe a handful of times. I've always been very interested in trying to decipher my dreams. Trying to figure out what it all means. Why are these little movies playing in my mind while I am sleeping? Why do we dream? do the images mean anything? What is my subconscious trying to tell me?   These are questions that I always wonder about dreams. I also sometimes wonder if maybe dèjá vu is just something from a dream. I get really bad dèjá vu sometimes. Like some people will say they have it when they see something they think they've seen before. Not me. I have like a full minute episode where I will suddenly go I feel like I've had this conversation with this exact person in this exact setting before. Whenever I have it I feel like maybe it was just some thing I dreamed one time. It's weird when it happens.

I've always had very vivid dreams. I don't vivid dreams every night, but at least once a week I am able to remember at least one of my dreams. I have also had dreams that seemed to last so long and have been so vivid that I have been able to remember them for years. I've only had two nightmares in my life (at least that I can remember) and I remember both of them very well. I had one when I was around 6 or 7-years-old. I won't go into great detail because it will take too long, but I will tell you that there were two little demon-like children in it, a boy and a girl. It scared me and I had a hard time falling back to sleep that night. My second nightmare happened on a family trip when I was in high school. It involved our old cat chasing a ghost under the hotel bed that I was sleeping in and then the ghost started to make the bed bounce. My mom had to wake me up because I was breathing really fast and heavy. When I woke up I was a little startled and then I said "oh, I was just having a bad dream."

It is amazing how sometimes a dream can just stick with you for whatever reason. I know not everyone remembers all of their dreams. But I'm sure we all have at least one dream or nightmare that we remember. I've also always wondered what dreams are like for other people. I know what it's like for me when I have a dream, but what is it like for someone else. Does it always seem so weird? Why does the weirdest stuff seem to happen in dreams? The subconscious is such a interesting part of our mind. I've always thought of it as everything we are hiding from ourselves or everything our mind is hiding from us. I'm pretty sure that is where dreams come from and when we dream I think that, sometimes, that is our subconscious trying to interact with us.

Blogly Question(s):

Have you ever had a really weird dream that you can still remember? What do you think about dreams?

Sunday, September 9, 2012

It's Sunday & I'm Getting Ready For...

It's Sunday & I'm Getting Ready For:
  • Work tomorrow, as usual. I had last week off, so I'm sure tomorrow will be a bit busier than usual. Which is always nice. I love my job and I love when I have lots to do.
  • Storytime on Tuesday. Can't wait! I love taking Lincoln to storytime and he loves sitting in my lap and listening to the stories being read.
  • A library trip some time this week. We have a few books and movies to return and I'm hoping that we will have the books I requested on Rhinos there. We learned about Turtles this past week and Lincoln chose Rhinos for this week. I'm excited! I learn new things with Lincoln too. 
  • More exercise this week. My dieting is going pretty well. I need to back off the carbs a bit more and I need to up the exercise. But overall I'm very proud of myself for working on getting healthier and fit. 
  • Date night with Gabe tomorrow night. Lincoln is going to go over to his grandparents' and Gabe & I are going to go out to dinner. We are looking forward to it. It's been quite awhile since we've had a date night. In fact, I can't remember when our last date night was. This will be really great for us and Lincoln will have lots of fun at the farm.
  • I'm hoping to get some reading done this week. I haven't read in a few nights, because we've stayed up too late or I've just been too tired to read when we head to bed. I'm currently read Eat, Pray, Love by Elizabeth Gilbert. I am absolutely in love with it. It is one of the best books I have ever read and I'm not even half way through it. I also have tons of other books that I need to read, as well. So I'm hoping I can get back to reading a few pages a night again.
  • Some writing for sure. I have been trying to work on typing up my book. I just get so stuck sometimes and I know I'm going to be changing quite a few things once I am finished typing and go back and edit. I feel like by the time I'm done writing and editing this book I'm going to be sick of it. But I know that tons of family and friends have said they can't wait to read it. I feel like they are just saying that to be nice, but who knows they could really enjoy it too.
  • Teaching Lincoln ABC's and Colors. Those are two things we need to work on with him and that I am working on teaching him more. He's really good about repeating the letters after we say them, but he doesn't know them on his own yet. He can say ABC all by himself, but that's it. We told him once he can say the alphabet on his own we will take him to Train Town again. He got to go with me for his birthday this year and we figure it'll be a good reward for learning the alphabet. It'll also kind of count for his reward for learning how to count to ten all by himself. 
And there is my list for this week. I'm looking forward to all of it.
What are you getting ready for this week?

 

Friday, September 7, 2012

Baking Fever

I know I've used this picture before, but it's the only baking picture I have.
I don't know if it's because I'm on a diet or if it's because I've been watching lots of baking shows or if it's just because I haven't baked in awhile. But I have been feeling the need to bake up a storm. I have been writing down different cupcake flavors to try and I just made some banana bread that is in the oven baking. I also made homemade bread earlier this week and we are already almost half way through the second loaf. Mind you, we have been using the bread just for sandwiches and on my new diet I have a sandwich for lunch and one for dinner. I just really enjoy baking.

I've been watching a lot of DC Cupcakes, Cake Boss and Cupcake Wars. It is clear that the cupcake shows are fueling my ideas for new cupcake recipes. I have two recipes for cupcakes that we all enjoy in the house. I have one that I came up with on my own using a slightly revised chocolate cake recipe. Lincoln and I call them Monkey Cupcakes and I may have mentioned them on here before. They are chocolate peanut butter banana cupcakes with peanut butter buttercream. I put peanut butter chips inside and they are so yummy, especially for us women during our time of the month. I also make one that I call a Banana Cream cupcake. Since Gabe isn't a chocolate fan, he prefers the banana one. Which is funny, because he doesn't care for banana bread.

10-month-old Lincoln next to a huge calzone we made
Tomorrow night I'll be making one of my family's favorite dinners. Calzone. It's Gabe's favorite and everyone else that has tried mine loves it. I usually make pizza, because that's what I prefer. But calzone is a lot of fun to make because you get to roll out the dough like you would with pizza and put everything you want inside on one half of the dough and then fold the other side over. It's delicious. Hopefully, my friends that will be having it tomorrow night will enjoy it. These are friends that I have never made this for. I'm sure they will all enjoy it, no one else has ever complained.

I don't know where I got my knack for baking. My mom used to make banana bread and when I was younger she would make our birthday cakes and sometimes cookies. I think mostly baking just came naturally to me. It's something I've always enjoyed to do. At times it can be stressful, especially since I like to put things off until the last moment. But it's also like my escape. It's my thing that I can do on my own. Of course, now that Lincoln is getting older I do let him help with some of it. I want him to know how to cook and bake when he gets older. I think it's a great skill to have. Being able to cook and bake definitely helps later in life. Gabe and I always say that home cooked meals are so much better than eating out. Sure food out tastes good, but it's not nearly as good as homemade.

Lincoln & I on his 1st Birthday with the one birthday cake I've ever made him.
Once I'm done with this diet and have gotten down to my ideal weight I think I will do some baking. I may even make Lincoln's birthday cake next year. I made his cake for his first birthday, of course that was the cake we had with just family. The cakes at his parties have always been store bought. It's funny that I enjoy baking so much, but I've never made my own son his birthday cake. I'm thinking that maybe next year I will make the Monkey Cupcakes, since they are his favorite. Plus cupcakes are so much easier with children. I have definitely been in the baking mood the past few days and am looking forward to trying out some new cupcake recipes soon.

Blogly Question(s):

Do you enjoy baking and/or cooking? Do you let your children help?

Thursday, September 6, 2012

Slacker & Procrastinator

Lincoln's peanut butter covered face
Yesterday I linked up and did So What Wednesday. The first thing on my list was that I had only written three posts since last weeks So What Wednesday. Yesterday I was thinking about how I feel like I have been slacking when it comes to writing blog posts. I even forgot it was Wednesday until a blog that I am subscribed to via email reminded me it was So What Wednesday when her blog post showed up in my inbox. I feel like Lincoln and I are constantly on the go. I had Monday off this week, so that may have something to do with feeling off and I can't even remember what we ended up doing on Monday. Tuesday we had story time over in Santa Rosa. We left here around 9:30am to get there by 10am. Afterward we stopped at home at about 1:30pm, I picked up our cloth shopping bags and we headed to two grocery stores (I went to the nicer store in town to get lunch meat and Lincoln his favorite lunch/dinner, chicken strips) and the Post Office. But the Post Office was packed so I figured I would just go the next day. We got home from running errands around 3pm on Tuesday. I unloaded groceries and then made Lincoln and I each lunch and I finally got to sit down and relax. Of course, that evening we had a bit of a messy situation to deal with. Lincoln asked for sliced apples with peanut butter. I sliced him up an apple and put them in a bowl and then put some peanut butter in a separate dish for him. It seemed like he was eating them pretty good. Then I turned around just as Gabe starts telling me that we need baby wipes. There is Lincoln with peanut butter all over his hands and he smears some on the wall and then we notice that he has smeared it all over his face. It was funny, but also messy. I picked him up and stripped him and put him in the bath tub right away.

Yesterday, we went by the Post Office and I picked up my package from Amazon. I ordered two books for my birthday with the gift card my brother got me. I got Kevin Smith's new book (I'm a huge Kevin Smith fan, I've seen all of his movies except for Red State) and the latest True Blood/Southern Vampire Mysteries/Sookie Stackhouse book, Deadlocked (I'm also a huge True Blood fan, my brother got me the first 8 books a few Christmas' ago and I started reading them late last year or earlier this year). This is the 12th book in the series and I can't wait to read it, right after I finish Eat, Pray, Love which I am enjoying so much. If you haven't read Eat, Pray, Love I highly recommend it. I'm not even half way through it and I recommend it. The author's writing is amazing and so descriptive, you feel like you are there in Italy with her.

Anyways....

After the Post Office we went to the library. Our new thing now, that we started yesterday, is that before we go to the library Lincoln picks something out that he wants to learn about. I then go on the library's website and look for books on the subject he has picked that are available at our library and we then go get a few on the subject. Yesterday he picked turtles. We got about 4 books on turtles and read a couple of them yesterday afternoon. After the library we took a big piece of our homemade bread down the the bike path that runs along a creek and fed the ducks there. We then walked all the way down the bike path and back. Then we came home and I made us lunch and we sat down at the kitchen table and ate our sandwiches together. Once we were done we went and sat down on the couch and read our library books. After reading for about an hour we went outside and Lincoln played while I read the paper. After playing outside for about 30 minutes I decided to take Lincoln to the farm (which is what I call Gabe's parents' house). We went over there and said hi to Gabe and then I took Lincoln on a little walk up the driveway and down the street and around the corner to the side gate to the sheep field. I opened the gate and let Lincoln and I in and all the sheep came running up the hill and towards us. Now, I'm usually fine with the sheep at the farm, but usually when I go in the sheep field it's with Gabe and/or his mom to either walk through to the other side or to help with herding the sheep to one of the other fields. This time I was in there with just Lincoln and all these sheep run towards us. So I quickly picked up Lincoln and then the sheep started coming up real close and faster than usual. They have a ram with these huge horns, they're beautiful but they're really big (I don't have a picture of him, but if we make it over to the farm tomorrow I will take a picture and post it, just so you all can see how big his horns are). Their old ram that died about a year ago was known for ramming his head into things and sometimes towards people. This ram is younger and I wasn't sure if he was going to try and butt me or not, plus I'm holding a small child so I was scared. I started running back towards the side gate we just came in and then I ran up a little hill. Once I started running away the sheep backed off. So, then I kind of made a U-turn around and headed towards the gate into my in-laws property. But the sheep were still coming towards us and they weren't running, but they also weren't walking, it was like a fast walk that they were doing. So I ran towards the gate while holding Lincoln on my hip and he was giggling the whole way. He thought it was the funniest thing in the world that I was running away from these sheep. I started to open the gate and these sheep are just coming right up to us, which they don't normally do. I got Lincoln through the gate and then the ram was right there and I was really scared he was about to butt me with these huge horns of his. So I stuck my foot up in his face and yelled no and that sure scared him away. As silly as it might seem running from sheep, I have had to deal with animals butting before and it's not fun. Plus, these sheep are known for not coming up to people and from running away whenever someone comes into their area, I guess they just really wanted food yesterday. I was basically keeping Lincoln safe, because the sheep could have unknowingly trampled him. The reason they were coming right up to us is because they always want food. You wouldn't think these sheep never got fed the way they baa for food, it's ridiculous and annoying.

So, as you can see Lincoln and I are keeping very busy. It's tiring and it's hard for me to think about things to write about. My brain is so tired after running around all day and focusing on so many other things. I do slack off on things some times and I do tend to put off doing things. Like making banana bread. I said I was going to stop at the store yesterday and get milk to make it, but Lincoln was so hungry after our big walk so I said I would go to the store today and get milk, but I was having bad cramps and Gabe came home early from work because he wasn't sure if he was getting a cold or having really bad allergies. So, I will for sure be going to the store tomorrow morning and making the banana bread in the afternoon. I've also been trying to work on my book more and really work towards getting it finished, finally. I started hand-writing it over 4 years ago, I now have almost 43 pages of it typed up and still lots more to go and lots of editing to do. But I'm glad that I am working harder at finishing it.

This is the life of a stay-at-home mom to a 3-year-old little boy. We are constantly on the go and I feel like I am slacking on other things in my life or putting off other things. At least I've been having lots of fun with Lincoln.

Blogly Question(s):

Do you ever have weeks where you just feel like you are constantly on the go?



Wednesday, September 5, 2012

So What Wednesday


It's So What Wednesday and this is what I'm saying So What to this week:

So What if....
  • I've only written three entries between last weeks So What Wednesday and this weeks. I was totally going to write a post about how I feel like I am slacking and I still might. 
  • I've sat down 3 times this week to work on my book for an hour and gotten sidetracked a million times. I've put a bit of work into it and I've been writing out editing notes for myself, but I'm also feeling a bit stuck, as well. Just gotta keep on truckin'.
  • Even though I'm dieting, I've been watching food shows and thinking about making cupcakes. My all time favorite food shows are Master Chef, Hell's Kitchen, Top Chef, Cupcake Wars, and DC Cupcakes. I watch Cake Boss, but that's more so when I'm bored and feel like making fun of how ridiculous that show can be.
  • I've added far too many items to mine and Lincoln's Amazon wishlists. We both have well over 100 items on each of our lists. I pick out most of the stuff to put on his, but occasionally he will come and sit in my lap and point at stuff to add to his list.
  • We let Lincoln play in the bathtub for over an hour last night. Gabe & I were having a wonderful conversation and Lincoln was having fun in the bath. He played in it until it was pretty cold, but he was having a blast.
  • We've been letting Lincoln stay up a bit past his bedtime the past few nights. He wakes up between 7:30am and 8am and we have very active days and he usually crashes around 4pm some days and we let him sleep for about 30 minutes to an hour and then we have to keep him up a little later so he'll fall asleep at a reasonable time.
  • I've been driving way too much lately. I know gas is super expensive right now, but I'm trying to do as many things outdoors with Lincoln before this wonderful summer weather is gone for a few months. I should start figuring out what we'll be doing when the weather gets colder and rainy.

What are you saying So What to this week?

 

Monday, September 3, 2012

You're Really Not Doing a Good Job of Parenting Your Own Child...

I'm sure no one has ever said this to your face, at least I hope no one has. If they have, how unbelievably rude of them. But, we have all heard this tone in one's voice when speaking to us about something our child did and how we're dealing with it or not dealing with it. No person in their right mind would say this to a parent, but they may unknowingly have this condescending tone in their voice. I cannot stand being condescended as a parent. I may only have one child, but he's 3-years-old and I'm pretty sure I know what I'm doing when it comes to raising him. I know I have acted this way towards my own husband, but that has to do with my own control issues (which I will write about at a later date).

I understand when one parent wants to give another parent advice. But, almost all of us as parents have talked about how we hate unsolicited advice. I know we have talked about it many times at Mommy Group and I know that I've talked about it many times with Gabe. But for some reason or another once we feel "seasoned" as parents we forget and sometimes give unsolicited advice to others. Look I don't care if you advice is given in a nice nurturing tone, but it seems like a lot of advice that comes when it's not asked for is in a tone that says we don't know what we're doing or we're really not doing a good job as a parent.

As much as I want to snap at these people that give me unsolicited advice in a condescending tone, I keep my cool and don't. I talk about with Gabe after the fact and when we're at home in the privacy of our own home. It's like some people still treat us like we're children raising a child. I just want to scream at these people that we've been parents for the past 3 years, sure it's not that long when it comes to raising a child, but I do think we know what we're doing. He's happy, he's healthy, he's well-mannered and friendly. Sure he's had a few incidents with other children, but we take care of it. We don't spank or hit, we have a serious talk with him and have him sit with us until he calms down and understands what he did wrong. He's a perfectly well-rounded child and I think that kind of proves that we know what we're doing when it comes to raising him.

Recently, there was an incident where this happened . I felt condescended as a parent from the advice I was getting from another parent. I didn't say anything mean or rude to the other parent, I simply nodded my head and said thanks to them. A few years ago I might have gone off on anyone that talked to me in this sort of tone. But I've grown and changed and I've learned how to keep my cool, for the most part. Since becoming a parent I have learned that sometimes you just have to let people say what they need to say so that they can feel like they're helping you. Whether you take that advice or not is your own choice. I know that most people mean well, but sometimes it just doesn't sound that way.

Blogly Question(s):
 Have you ever felt condescended by another parent? Does it drive you crazy when someone gives you unsolicited advice?

Sunday, September 2, 2012

I'm Getting Ready For....

It's Sunday...again...and you all know what that means.....

It's Sunday & I'm Getting Ready For:

  • A day off tomorrow. My wonderful boss gave me the day off. We may go to a family BBQ and we may just take it easy.
  • Tomorrow morning Lincoln & I are going to make homemade bread. It will be the first time that we do this, so I'm hoping it turns out delicious.
  • Tuesday we have storytime at one of my very good mommy friends' house. Both her children are in kindergarten and she's going to school, so I'm very thankful to her hosting this week.
  • Lincoln & I will be doing our weekly library trip, as usual. And we will be getting lots of books, as usual.
  • I have no idea what we will be doing on Thursday or Friday, but I'm sure we will figure something out. 
  • Saturday evening I get to go out and spend time with my mommy friends. We are going to have our monthly mommy's night out, but it will also be a fundraiser meeting. I will explain about the fundraiser in a later post.
  • I will also be continuing my new diet this week. I changed my diet, because I couldn't fully function on just smoothies. I am now doing the Subway diet. I walk up to the nearest one (which is almost 2 miles one way) get a foot long sandwich with just meat, a few veggies, and mustard and eat one half for lunch and the other half for dinner. I'm doing oatmeal for breakfast, since if I want to lose weight it is vital that I eat a healthy breakfast every morning. Today was my 3rd day and so far so good. I feel great doing a 4 mile walk, even if I am very tired tonight and a little sore.
I'm sure I will be doing a lot more this week with Lincoln, but so far we don't have anything else planned. Sometimes we just plan something to do for the next day the night before. Hope you all are having a great holiday weekend.

What are you getting ready for this week?

Saturday, September 1, 2012

Looking into the Future

me at the lava fields in Oregon. I am about 12-years-old
When I was younger I used to think about what my life would be like when I was an adult. I knew that I would have children, because I've always wanted to be a mom. But I had no idea what I was going to do as a career. I knew that I would someday get married, but I didn't know who that man would be. Now I am an adult and married and have a child. I think about Lincoln's future now. All of us moms even talk about what it will be like when our children are teenagers. As much as we wish they would all stay young and little and cute forever, we know that someday in the not too distant future they will all be teenagers and then adults.

I don't really know what teenage boys are like. I have a brother, but once he was a teenager I didn't spend much time around him or our house. I know that Gabe was a very good teenager and I hope that Lincoln will be like Gabe was. I don't think he'll be a trouble maker of any kind. I hope that he'll be into recreational activities and he most likely will, since we already do a lot of walking and taking him to the park and kick around a soccer ball in the backyard and occasionally go on bike rides. I hope that he'll be well-mannered and never curse at me or Gabe. Gabe and I never cursed at our parents...okay well I did, but it was when they couldn't hear me (except for that one time). I was always too scared to curse at my parents.

There are times when us mommy friends talk about what we think our children will be like when they're teenagers. We talk about the mischief that they may get into and the crazy things they will do. In some ways I am scared to have a teenager some day. I was not the best kid when I was a teenager. I did dangerous things that were fun in the moment, but now that I look back on them I could have gotten seriously injured or killed. I hope that Lincoln will know better, but I also know that sometimes they have to learn on their own.

I also wonder if I'll be the parent that constantly embarrasses my child or if I'll be the parent that only occasionally embarrasses their child and only on accident. My mother constantly embarrassed me when I was a teenager and whenever I would bring it up she would tell me that was her job. Some parents think that this is their job. Sometimes I wonder if those parents either forgot what it's like to be a teenager or their parents constantly embarrassed them so they feel they have to "pay it forward" with their children. I know that their will be times when we as parents will unintentionally embarrass our children. I think sometimes parents do forget what it's like to be a teenager, because we're just focusing on raising our children and making sure they're taken care of. Not all teenagers know this (I certainly didn't) and so they think that we're just trying to embarrass them, not take care of them. Plus most teenagers think they know everything, even when it comes to their well-being.

Teenagers are, essentially, miniature adults. They're coming into their own and learning what the world holds for them. They think they know everything, but they don't. I don't even know everything at 26. In life we are constantly growing and learning. Most of us reach a higher maturity level by our mid-20s and some of us are still partying and enjoying being young then. There are also those of us that don't ever really grow up. Whatever the future holds for Lincoln and Gabe and myself I hope for it to be happy. I know there are many milestones and events ahead of us with Lincoln. There is so much ahead of all of us in life. The road ahead looks like a wonderful adventure.

Blogly Question(s):

Do you ever think about your future? or your children's future?